Duke of Edinburgh’s Award

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award, also known as the DofE Award, is a youth development program that was founded in 1956 by Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh. The program is open to young people aged between 14 and 24, and is designed to encourage personal development and self-discovery through a series of challenging activities.

The DofE Award is made up of four sections: volunteering, physical, skills, and expedition. Participants must complete a set number of hours in each section, and also undertake a final residential project at Gold level. The program is flexible and participants can choose their own activities within each section, allowing them to tailor the program to their own interests and abilities.

The DofE Award is recognized internationally and is highly regarded by employers and educational institutions. It is currently run in over 140 countries worldwide and has helped millions of young people to develop essential life skills, increase their confidence, and make a positive impact on their communities.

The DofE Award has also been credited with encouraging young people to get involved in outdoor activities and fostering a love of the natural environment. It has also been praised for promoting teamwork, leadership, and resilience, and for helping young people to develop a sense of purpose and direction in their lives.

The DofE Award is made up of four sections, each of which requires a set number of hours to be completed:

Duke of Edinburgh's International Award logo

DofE Award Sections

​Volunteering Service section

Participants must undertake a volunteering activity that benefits their community. This could include working with a charity, helping out at a local school or hospital, or assisting with environmental conservation efforts.

Physical Recreation section

Participants must engage in a physical activity to improve their fitness and health. This could include team sports, martial arts, dance, or individual pursuits like running, swimming or cycling.

Skills section

Participants must develop a new skill or improve an existing one. This could be anything from learning a musical instrument, mastering a foreign language, developing cooking skills, or learning to cook.

Adventurous Journey section

Participants must plan, prepare for, and complete an expedition. This usually involves a team of young people hiking, camping, and navigating through a designated wilderness area.

Gold Residential Project

In addition to completing the above four sections, participants must also undertake a residential project, which involves living and working with others in an unfamiliar environment for at least five days.

Online Record Book (ORB)

Upload your PPS completion certificate into the ORB